The Town of Warrenton is organized under a Council-Manager form of government.  The Town Council is comprised of a Mayor, one member from each of the Town’s five Wards, and two at-large members.  The Mayor does not vote, except in the case of a tie.  The Council appoints a Town Manager, who serves at the pleasure of Council and is charged with managing the day-to-day operations of the Town.  Also appointed are the positions of Town Attorney and the Town Recorder.

Towns in Virginia have overlapping tax districts with the Counties in which they are located.  Town residents pay property taxes to both the County and the Town.  Town residents enjoy the services provided by Fauquier County and receive additional services from the Town, such as refuse and recycling collection, police protection, street and sidewalk maintenance, planning and zoning, and parks and recreation facilities. 

Town of Warrenton Regional Map with Town Hall Location